Government of Saskatchewan
Thursday, December 05, 2019
Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority

If you have a complaint about a credit union, we encourage you to take the following steps to resolve it.

Step 1: Talk to Your Credit Union

Credit unions are responsible for resolving complaints because they are able to address issues directly. Ask to speak to a manager or customer service representative of the credit union branch where you encountered a problem. If you are not satisfied with the response credit unions have an internal Ombudsman or compliance office that can review unresolved concerns.

Step 2: Contact the SaskCentral* Ombudsman

You can contact the SaskCentral Ombudsman if your concern is not resolved after talking to your credit union.

The SaskCentral Ombudsman will seek to resolve complaints fairly and does not advocate for you or the credit union when investigating. This service is free.

Office of the SaskCentral Ombudsman

2055 Albert St., P.O. Box 3030
Regina, SK S4P 3G8
Phone 306-566-1200
Toll-Free 1-866-403-7499


*SaskCentral is a trade association that supports credit unions by providing them with operational, legislative and regulatory support.

Step 3: Ombudsman for Banking Services and Investments (OBSI)

OBSI is an independent, national organization that investigates customer complaints against financial service providers, including credit unions. If you’ve followed steps 1 and 2 and your complaint is still unresolved, contact OBSI.

Ombudsman for Bank Services and Investments
401 Bay Street, Suite 1505 P.O. Box 5
Toronto, ON M5H 2Y4
Toll-Free  1-888-451-4519


Related Links

Member disputes that remain unsolved after being reviewed by the credit union, can be escalated to the Saskatchewan credit union system’s ombudsman. 

OBSI is Canada's independent dispute resolution service for consumers and small businesses with a complaint they can't resolve with their banking services or investment firm.

Home/Information for Financial Consumers/Credit Union Members/Filing Complaints Against a Credit Union
© 2019 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.